Biking in Belize

So I got this brilliant idea to bike to Progresso village yesterday – it’s only 2 miles north of us, on a stretch of the road that’s in pretty good shape. We drive through it frequently and I’ve been thinking how pretty it is, though I haven’t yet taken pictures from the truck.

Ray, Hector (working here), and probably many of the villagers thought I was a little nuts, but I got some exercise (a little more than I bargained for, actually) and some pictures to share here. The things I will do for a blog post, huh?!

progresso-1

The guys on the cane truck at far left above “hallooed” at me and told me to follow them (I didn’t).

006I’ve been admiring this brilliant fuschia bougainvillea every time we pass it. So pretty!

007As you can see, Progresso has electricity, as most of the Belizean villages do (it’s only the outbacks like Cerros that don’t – not enough people out there to warrant the expense of putting it in). The village population is about 1000, including Hector and his extended family (he and his wife have five kids, plus many other relatives in the area).

014Here’s a pretty garden beside the Laguna Grill. I stopped there to see what the menu was like, as we’ve passed it before but hadn’t stopped yet. The Belizean owners Walt and Dulsey actually knew who I was – ha, take that, “Hey Ray”! By odd coincidence, another Jackie and her husband (Americans) had stopped with a realtor to view the lagoon house recently and must have mentioned that Ray and I were house-sitting it when they stopped at the grill for lunch later.

plumeriaEverything’s blooming right now – big bunches of white plumeria here, and such a beautiful day, with a nice cool breeze and blue blue skies! And some pink plumeria, too, just off the road…

016The village is pretty sleepy – people were out and about, walking and on bikes, or working on cars or hanging laundry in their yards. Everyone was friendly and said hello, though I could tell I must have appeared to them as “La Gringa Loco,” who was wandering around their village why? One guy even biked up alongside me to ask if I was okay. I was like sure, what, don’t I look okay? When I got home and saw my red face, I guessed why he might have asked, though. Some adorable schoolboys – four of them on one bike in their little Catholic school uniforms – flew past me, all saying HI GUY HI GUY HI GUY (at least I think that’s what they said) and laughing their heads off. And I passed one old black woman walking her bike down the lane who I would have loved to have photographed – she was so wrinkled and so beautiful, all at the same time.

Hey – I’ve jumped sharks! I should be able to ask for a photo, shouldn’t I? That’s my new resolution. You’ll see if I come through or not.

Meanwhile, here was my view from the bike as I left town – two long miles back home in the sun. AUGH. What was I thinking?!

019For the record, I did not call Ray to come and get me (although he said he was going to give me 15 more minutes before he came to find me in the truck). In fact, I made it all the way back – despite having to walk the bike up the last half-mile hill, where a little old guy with a machete and a grin “pss”-ed at me from the edge of a cane field (I waved hello and kept going). When I reached home, I drank three large glasses of ice water (on top of the now-empty water bottle I’d taken with me) before heading for a COLD shower.

Not sure I’ll do it again, but chalk up another new adventure in Belize! 🙂

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Biking in Belize

  1. Christine says:

    This post just left me smiling… you wonderfully captured the beautiful little nuances that I so loved about my time in Belize. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

